Sat. Mar 18th, 2023
2024 World Cup

The 2020 World Cup will take place in the United States and the 2024 World Cup in the Caribbean. In the expanded format, 20 teams will compete for the championship. After the World Cup in Australia, 12 teams have already confirmed their participation.

England won their second T20 World Cup in Australia and will now look to the next tournament in 2024.

Here are some of the highlights of the two-year extension, including the regional qualifiers which will start in the New Year.

Where will the tournament take place?

The 2024 World Cup will be hosted by the United States and the Caribbean. The tournament is scheduled to take place in June 2024 and will include 55 matches.

In October 2022, it was announced that the ICC had stripped USA Cricket of its role as the operational co-host of the World Cup because the ICC had not complied with the ICC funding agreement and USA Cricket was in debt of nearly US$650,000.

This is not expected to affect the domestic tournament.

About a third of the matches will reportedly be played in the US and the rest in the Caribbean.

Central Broward Regional Park in Florida, Moosa Stadium in Texas, BPL Cricket Stadium in Illinois, Woodley Cricket Fields in California, and World Sports in Indianapolis. The park is the most likely venue. In the US, 13 Caribbean cricketers are expected to participate in the tournament.

Semifinal preview 1. Pakistan will face New Zealand on November 9

Which teams will qualify and which others will not?

The 2024 World Cup will be the biggest T20 tournament in history, with 20 teams participating.

After qualifying, the USA will be the host nation for the first time. West Indies will return to the main competition after Australia failed to qualify for the Super 12 stage.

The top eight teams from the 2022 World Cup in Australia and the top two teams from the ICC Men’s T20I tournament starting on 14 November will automatically qualify.

This means that England, Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa have already qualified for the tournament.

The Netherlands beat South Africa in their final group match to finish fourth alongside Sri Lanka, while Afghanistan and Bangladesh are among the 12 teams that have secured automatic qualification.

The remaining eight places are split between regional qualifiers: two teams from Africa, Asia, and Europe and one from the Americas and East Asia and the Pacific.

A total of 66 teams are competing for the eight places – 14 from Africa, eight from the US, nine from Asia, seven from East Africa, and 28 from Europe.

Hungary, Romania, and Serbia are participating for the first time. Ireland, Scotland, and Wales will qualify for the extended competition through regional qualifiers.

What does the new format mean for the T20 World Cup?

At the World Cup in Australia, two groups of four teams each qualified for the Super 12.

In 2024, the 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five, with the top two advancing to the Super 8 stage.

The top two teams will be divided into two groups of four, with the top two teams advancing to the knockout stage, which will consist of two semi-finals and one final.

The revised and extended format will last until the 2030 World Cup, which will be hosted by England, Ireland, and Scotland.

By editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.